Secrets Versions

When updating a Static Secret or a Rotated Secrets or even a Target, you can update the current version, create a new version, or roll back to the previous version of a secret (for example, if the most recent version was configured incorrectly).

You can globally set each type of those items to store old versions of your secrets by default.

From the UI, under the "Secrets & Keys" screen, click the settings icon, and toggle the Default versioning option to globally enable and store versions of your Static Secrets, Rotated Secrets and Targets items.

You can set the Maximum number of older versions that will be stored automatically.

🚧

Note:

Setting a new Maximum number of versions will affect your existing versions of secret.
Setting a lower number than your current items versions amount will delete the older versions upon the next version update.

Once a secret has more than one version, a list of all previous values is available within the secret at the bottom of the configurations. Click the arrow to open and close the list and view older versions.


Did this page help you?